>>
you're reading...
crafts, drawings

Paperdolls

I was bored one Wednesday back in August. I just finished a cycle of drafting, rendering, and presenting a parking design plate and I needed something to calm my still panicking mind. So I got myself some used papers which are clean on one side, my Unipin disposable technical pens (which I use for sketching), and a pair of scissors. I just let my mind run free from there, and produced these:

This is Paper Hero or Paper Jaejoong, inspired by my ultimate Korean crush Kim Jaejoong.

Kim JaejoongWho is he? Kim Jaejoong is a popstar, singer-songwriter, actor, composer, and just recently also a director, from South Korea. His stage name is Hero or Youngwoong (in South Korea). He rose to fame as the lead vocalist of DBSK (Dong Bang Shin Ki), a Korean pop male group, along with his four bandmates – Jung Yunho (UKnow), Shim Changmin (Max), Kim Junsu (Xiah), and Park Yoochun (Micky).

Jaejoong and bandmates Junsu and Yoochun left DBSK, also stylized as TVXQ for the Chinese market and known as Tohoshinki in Japan, and formed JYJ which debuted last October 2010. Jaejoong starred in the just-concluded Korean drama Protect the Boss.

I could go on forever talking about this guy and how startstruck I am with him, but this is not a post about him. But if you’re a Kpop fan or interested in Korean pop music, you should try listening to DBSK (especially when they were still five) circa 2003-2009. They are unlike any other Korean pop groups; if you’re into blending and harmonizing and touching ballads, they are reminiscent of Boyz II Men.

Back to paperdolls, meet papergirl Emma and schoolgirl Taiga:

This papergirl can’t decide which book to read. She takes residence in our room’s mini library where my (and my roommate/friend’s) collection of Newbery books are.

Newbery Medal

Newbery Medal and Newbery Honor

What is a Newbery Award? The John Newbery Medal is given to authors for their distinguished contribution to American literature for children (which is their tagline). These medals have been awarded to authors since 1922 and was the first award-giving body for children’s literary.  It is important to note that the Newbery Medal is different from the Caldecott Medal, which is awarded to artists of distinguished American picture books for children. I also noticed that the market of the books honored with the Newbery Medal ranges typically and approximately from ages 8 to high school, while Caldecott books are intended for younger children.

This is Taiga, the paper schoolgirl who lurks on top of my desk lamp. She watches me draft and draw and work. I named her Taiga because her hair reminded me of Taiga Aisaka from Tora Dora.

About klacenklai

Klarizza Jose is a landscape architect by day, dreamer and digital artist by night, and is in an on-again off-again relationship with coffee.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Paperdolls

  1. Oh Wow, these are fantastic. It is a brilliant concept. I just love the way you are holding ‘Hero’ and Taiga on your lamp, well I love them all. Thank you for subscribing to my blog but I have the good end of the deal here watching to create.

    Posted by randomrose | 10/28/2011, 16:03

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Number. 3 | Random Rose's Blog - 10/28/2011

  2. Pingback: Book Review: The Canning Season « Klacenklai Illustrates - 10/28/2011

  3. Pingback: Newbery and Caldecott Prizes « Literary Legends Quests & Odysseys - 01/28/2012

Share your thoughts about this post

Enter your email address to follow Hey Klacenklai and receive notifications of new posts by email.

You can also find my works at Tumblr

Copyright

All illustrations, drawings, photos and content are © Klarizza Jose unless otherwise stated. Please do not download, copy, alter, distort, and use without permission. For inquiries please send me an email at klacenklai@gmail.com.
