>>
you're reading...
illustrations

Recipe + Use of Textures

recipeI created this illustration last 2009 for Halloween, entitled Recipe. I know they look like Thumbelina and Tom Thumb together, but the teacup-slash-cauldron is the overscaled one. This illustration was created using Adobe Photoshop CS2 and textures from deviantArt.com.

I do have a fascination for textures. I love using textures in my illustrations, it give the shapes, vectors, and colors that additional spunk. Textures make the vectors more “tangible”, for the lack of better term, and realistic. It also does wonders with the colors- from plain jane to a myriad of astonishing hues, depending on the blending option used.

I work with layers upon layers of masks because I try to use different textures for every vector shape. Recently I have discovered that sometimes one grunge paper texture can make a lot of difference, especially for illustrations that is meant to come out clean and simple.

The secret is to experiment with the blending options, choosing the most unique but fitting effect of the texture(s) on the illustration. More tips on using textures coming in the following posts! :D

About klacenklai

I am an amateur illustrator and freelance blogger, and also an ocassional bookworm. I am on a quest for the best Pesto pasta and has a ginormous sweet tooth to tame. I am on my way to creating my own Newbery library, and I believe there is no age limit to playing Nintendo and Playstation games.

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Let’s Color Nature + Nicolas Gouny « Klacenklai Illustrates - 10/28/2011

  2. Pingback: Easter Girl + Burn Tool « Klacenklai Illustrates - 10/29/2011

Share your thoughts about this post

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

You can also find my works at Tumblr

Copyright

All illustrations, drawings, photos and content are © Klarizza Jose unless otherwise stated. Please do not download, copy, alter, distort, and use without permission. For inquiries please send me an email.
Commissions now open
